Afcon 2023: Troost-Ekong is tournament’s best player

Afcon 2023: Troost-Ekong is tournament’s best player

 The 34th edition of the CAF Africa Cup of Nations concluded in fine style at the majestic Alassane Ouattara Stadium on Sunday evening after Cote d’Ivoire came from behind to seal a magnificent third CAF Afcon title against Nigeria.

With the curtains officially closed on the tournament, CAF awarded the best performers of the tournament.

Author of Cote d’Ivoire’s two assists in the final, Simon Adingra (22) was named the Man of the Match for the final.

Despite not finishing at the summit as champions, Nigerian captain, William Troost-Ekong walked away with the Best Player award.

Guinea-Bissau dangerman, Emilio Nsue Lopez walked away with the PUMA Golden Boot award for his 5 goals that saw him top the goal-scoring charts of the competition.

Bafana Bafana shot-stopper, Ronwen Williams was voted the Ecobank Best Goalkeeper for his heroics with the bronze medalists which includes a record four penalty saves against Equatorial Guinea and another two against DR Congo.

In addition to finishing third in the competition, Bafana Bafana’s bronze medal is accompanied by the Fair Play Air Cote d’Ivoire Team

South Africa, in addition to third place in the general classification, receives the Fair Play award.

The winner’s trophy which was brought on by Togolese football legend, Emmanuel Adebayor was presented by Cote d’Ivoire President, Alassane Ouattara alongside CAF President, Patrice Motsepe and FIFA President, Gianni Infantino to Cote d’Ivoire skipper, Max Gradel.

The ceremony also included the official handing over of the CAF Flag to the Royal Moroccan Federation to signify the handing over of the hosting reigns to the country for the competition set to take place in 2026.

Here is the complete winners list for the CAN CAF, Ivory Coast 2023

CAF Afcon Cote d’Ivoire 2023 Winners List:

Winner: Cote d’Ivoire

Finalist: Nigeria

Third: South Africa

Fourth: Democratic Republic of Congo

Best Player: William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria)

Puma Golden Boat: Emilio Nsue Lopez

Best Goalkeeper: Ronwen Williams (South Africa)

Fair-Play Team: South Africa