Paris 2024: Amusan, Brume and 33 others make AFN team Olympic Games

Paris 2024: Amusan, Brume and 33 others make AFN team Olympic Games

Team Nigeria's athletics contingent for the 2024 Paris Olympics has been unveiled by the Athletics Federation of Nigeria.

The team is made up of 35 athletes in the sprints, hurdles, relays and field events.

Among the male sprinters are Favour Ashe, Godson Brume, and Kayinsola Ajayi, set to ignite the track in the 100-metre event.

Udodi Onwuzurike will bring his speed to the 200-metre race, while Chidi Okezie and Samuel Ogazi will challenge in the demanding 400-metre discipline.

Edose Ibadin will carry Nigeria’s hopes in the 800m, and Ezekiel Nathaniel will showcase his prowess in the 400m hurdles.

In the field events, Prosper Chinecherem and Chukwuebuka Enekwechi aim for glory in the javelin and shot put, respectively.

On the women’s side, sprinters like Favour Ofili, Rosemary Chukwuma, and Tima Godbless will represent Nigeria in the 100m and 200m events, while Ella Onojuvwevwo and Esther Elo Joseph will compete in the challenging 400m.

Tobi Amusan will bring her expertise to the 100-metre hurdles, and Ese Brume, Ruth Usoro, and Prestina Ochonogor will leap into action in the long jump. High jump specialist Temitope Adesina and hammer thrower Sade Olatoye add depth to Nigeria’s field event lineup.

The relay teams, both men’s and women’s, are poised to deliver thrilling performances, showcasing Nigeria’s speed and teamwork on the track.

With a history of consistent participation in the Olympics since its debut in Helsinki in 1952, Nigeria’s contingent of 82 athletes across various sports underscores the country’s commitment to excellence on the global sporting stage.



Full list:


Men’s 100m: Favour Ashe, Godson Brume, Kayinsola Ajayi

Men’s 200m: Udodi Onwuzurike

Men’s 400m: Chidi Okezie, Samuel Ogazi

Men’s 800m Edose Ibadin

Men’s 400mH: Ezekiel Nathaniel

Men’s Javelin: Prosper Chinecherem

Men’s Shot Put: Chukwuebuka Enekwechi

Men’s 4x100m: Alaba Akintola, Favour Ashe, Godson Brume, Kayinsola Ajayi, Udodi Onwuzurike, Usheoritse Itesekiri

Men’s 4x400m: Chidi Okezie, Dubem Amene, Dubem Nwachukwu, Ifeanyi Ojeli, Samuel Ogazi

Women’s 100m: Favour Ofili, Rosemary Chukwuma, Tima Godbless

Women’s 200m: Favour Ofili

Women’s 400m: Ella Onojuvwevwo, Esther Elo Joseph

Women’s 100mH: Tobi Amusan

Women’s Long Jump: Ese Brume, Ruth Usoro, Prestina Ochonogor

Women’s High Jump: Temitope Adesina

Women’s Hammer: Sade Olatoye

Women’s Discus: Ashley Anumba, Chioma Onyekwere, Obiageri Amaechi

Women’s 4x100m: Favour Ofili, Justina Eyakpobeyan, Olayinka Olajide, Rosemary Chukwuma, Tima Godbless

Mixed 4x400m: Ella Onojuvwevwo, Esther Elo Joseph, Israel Okon Sunday, Patience Okon-George, Omolara Ogunmakinju, Sikiru Adeyemi.