Inter beats Milan to win the Scudetto in a fiery match..

Inter beats Milan to win the Scudetto in a fiery match..

Inter won the Serie A title for the 20th time on Monday after securing a 2-1 win over city rivals in the derby della Madonnina.

There was tension in the final minutes with Theo and Dumfries receiving straight red cards at minute 93. The Milan and Inter defenders clashed after a challenge and none of their teammates managed to drag them apart for over a minute. More players joined the dispute, but Theo and Dumfries were the only players receiving red cards.

Just two minutes later, there was another clash involving Milan captain Calabria, who pushed Inter keeper Yann Sommer before a corner kick for the Rossoneri. Henrikh Mkhitaryan arrived to defend his teammate, and referee Andrea Colombo gave another straight red to a Milan player.

Calabria and Theo will miss the next away game at Juventus, while Dumfries won’t be available for Inter against Torino.

It was a race between the San Siro cousins, who were both on 19 going into this season, but Inter got there first thanks to a head-to-head victory in the derby this evening.

This is Simone Inzaghi’s first Scudetto of his coaching career, having previously won the Coppa Italia and Supercoppa Italiana at both Inter and Lazio.

His Nerazzurri were top of the table for almost the entire season, dipping down to second only once following a 2-2 draw with Bologna in Week 8.

They will not be able to match the record of 102 Serie A points set by Antonio Conte’s Juventus, but it is a remarkable campaign with 27 wins, five draws, and only one defeat.

Their sole loss was 2-1 at home to Sassuolo on September 27.

The first Inter title was in 1909-10 and the most recent was under Antonio Conte in 2020-21.

 Of the 20 Scudetti, one that stands out as controversial was in 2005-06, as they had finished third in the table that season.

Inter were bumped up because points were docked to both winners Juventus and runners-up Milan in the Calciopoli scandal.

Many argue the 2005-06 title should’ve had the same fate as the 2004-05 one and simply been left unassigned.