Cream de la Cream to compete for cash and honour at the 2024 WTT Contender Lagos

Cream de la Cream to compete for cash and honour at the 2024 WTT Contender Lagos

Team Nigeria Quadri Aruna will lead a star-studded cast for the second edition of WTT Contender Lagos.

Following the end of registration for the first WTT Series in Sub-Saharan Africa, the Nigerian is primed to make his first WTT Series appearance on home soil, as this will also be a chance for the World No. 19 to try to capture his very first WTT title, having not made a run beyond the quarterfinal since 2022.

Also, among the cast is the Brazilian Hugo Calderano, who holds a hefty WTT Series title collection and is the top seed heading to Lagos with five singles titles in the bag.

However, the Brazilian has yet to top the podium in 2024, going down in two finals so far this season.

There are plenty more stars on their way to Lagos, with Dimitrij Ovtcharov of Germany set to make a return to the city after finishing as a runner in 2023.

It will be a return that brings a bittersweet taste, with Ovtcharov going down in the final of the event last year, losing out on the title to Zhou Qihao of China.

In the women's singles, it's all about the title defence for South Korean Shin Yubin. Having topped the podium in 2023, Yubin spearheads the lineup in this season's edition.

Lagos was one of two WTT Series wins for World No. 7 last year, and with her 2024 account currently empty, history repeating in Nigeria will be just what the Korean is after.

India’s Sreeja Akula could pose the biggest threat to Yubin's title defence when the action gets going in Lagos.

Akula is in red-hot form, already taking out two WTT Feeder Series events this year. The chance to make a rapid graduation and claim a WTT Series title will not be squandered by World No. 41 as she looks to continue her rise up the global ladder.

Outside of table tennis, players and fans can experience the vibrant energy of Nigeria's largest city.

WTT Contender Lagos 2024 is set to be staged from June 19 to 23 at Sir Molade Okoya Thomas Indoor Sports Hall and offers up a total prize pool of $80,000 as well as 400 ITTF Table Tennis World Ranking Points for the champions.